How My Internship at BFan Helped Me Better Understand My Passions

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Hello, my name is Jordon! I am a former Academy Recruit/Relations intern at Ballet Fantastique. I am currently studying public relations and dance at the University of Oregon. My internship experience truly helped me understand what I want to pursue professionally. I’m still referencing the concepts and life lessons that I learned now seven months since my time ended at BFan.

Last summer I began taking my first public relations class at the University of Oregon. One of our first class assignments was to work on our resume and cover letter writing skills in response to a real world job application. After a bit of searching, I discovered that Ballet Fantastique was hiring PR interns. I decided to apply for a position at BFan as it seemed to be the ideal situation for me to combine my love of dance with my interest in public relations.

At first, I honestly didn’t know what to expect. I had been dancing for a long time but was just beginning to understand the ins and outs of PR. I was passionate about the arts and excited to be a part of an organization like BFan. Once I was hired, I was ready to learn and kept my eyes and ears open at all times. One of the first things that I found out was that it takes a lot of hard work from each member of a small organization like this in order for things to run smoothly.

My first experiences at BFan consisted of doing something that I had not previously realized was so important; sending out season subscription brochures. I had joined the team just as they were getting ready to announce their 2010-2011 concert series. Who else would let the community know about this? Us, of course! Having been apart of the dance world for so long, I had never really noted the importance of PR and advertising methods such as mailers and posters.

Throughout the internship I discovered many other important details that come with running a dance-related organization that I had never thought of before. For example, how do you get in touch with other members of the community to let them know about our evens when there are about 20 other art-related events happening in Eugene on the same weekend? It was the little jobs like stapling brochures that really opened my eyes to all the hard work that goes into running a dance company.

Today, I am still completely and utterly fascinated with questions such as the one listed above. About four months ago I started a blog called Social Rhythms. The main focus of my blog is public relations campaigns within the dance world. I am constantly discovered new and exciting ways that dance companies are creating community support both online and in the region that they reside in. I’m so happy to have the support of Ballet Fantastique and I’m completely grateful for everything they’ve taught me about public relations in the world of dance!

Leave a Reply

