Adult Ballet Class: Just What I Needed

Last week, I made the gutsy decision to take an adult ballet class at Ballet Fantastique. Why was this gutsy? Well, you see, I’m a bit “broken,” to put it lightly. After having three knee surgeries by the age of 19, I’m still living with a torn meniscus in both my left and right knees. To say the least, a ballet class is the exact opposite of what the doctor ordered. However, I came to find that the adult ballet class was exactly what I needed. I’ve kept up on my teaching and choreographing the past few years, but have not
taken a “real” ballet class in a long time. Leanne’s class was perfect for me—-a great balance between barre, center, jumps and turns, and it made me remember why I used to spend at least five hours dancing every single day.

10 reasons why everyone should try the adult ballet class:
1. Instructors work with all dancers and cater to different skill levels
2. Very small class size (only six people when I went!)
3. Builds strength
4. Increases flexibility
5. Drop-ins are available almost every day of the week (M/T/W/F)
6. You are dancing with people who are motivated, but also there to have fun
7. Instructor Leanne Mizzoni is a talented, extremely well-trained ballerina
8. Comfortable environment
9. Corrections are given not only to the group, but also to individuals
10. The class is a workout! You WILL be sore… in a good way, of course

If you are looking for an adult ballet class in Eugene, Ballet Fantastique is the way to go. I promise you will enjoy the various exercises, the workout, the people and the overall atmosphere!

<3,
Maggie, BFan intern

Do something GREAT for your body while having fun and honing your ballet technique!
Don’t be shy; come check out one of our classes!
Mondays 11 am-12:30 pm (Annex)
Tuesdays 6-7:30 pm (CCD)
Wednesdays 11 am-12:30 pm (Annex)
Fridays 11 am-12:30 pm (CCD)

More information available here.

Leave a Reply

