INTERN’S NOTEBOOK: Taylor Jernagan

1002357_10200330989669753_1083632799_n

All of the hard-working interns at BFan’s annual summer soiree!

I began my journey as an intern with Ballet Fantastique this summer. Ballet Fantastique was a company that I had never heard of before, but the internship opportunity sounded intriguing. When first starting at Ballet Fantastique, I was in awe of the ballet dancers and the beauty of the company. I didn’t realize that there was so much behind the scenes work that was happening to keep the company rolling smoothly.

This internship is also my first experience with a non-profit organization. It has shown me how much goes into running a non-profit and how hard everyone works that is a part of Ballet Fantastique.

As an intern, I almost didn’t expect that there would be so much to do right away! But there are so many projects going on all the time. It has been great to be given a project and trusted with working on it and finishing it on my own. Yet at the same time, it has also been challenging to be assigned as a leader on a project that involves aspects of PR, event planning, or even BFan that I’m not yet familiar with. Everything has been such a learning experience and it has been easy and hard–all rolled into one.

My favorite part of the internship so far has been setting up and helping plan the Summer Soirée at Domaine Meriwether. I love helping make an event a fun, memorable experience for all of the guests. I am looking forward to the upcoming events that I will be helping plan and set up for Ballet Fantastique. The fall gala (stay posted for more details!) is going to be an extremely fun event to be a part of. I’m excited to learn more about the event planning aspects of public relations.

Some of the other projects I’ve worked on have included:

  • Organizing and mailing out rewards for all of our Italy Kickstarter backers
  • Contacting and making partnerships with community groups for our upcoming ARTreach program
  • Folding and stuffing countless season brochures
  • Posting on our Facebook, Twitter and Instagram sites to gain a larger following on social media

So far, Ballet Fantastique has given me projects that are completely new to me and I am learning more and more each day I am there. This internship opportunity is going to be great for my future and I look forward to what else is in store at Ballet Fantastique.

Leave a Reply

